Skip to content
Frunk&Flow

Guides

Tesla Model Y Trunk Dimensions

The volumes are published and consistent. The actual length, width and depth of the tub are not published by anyone, including Tesla, and the third-party figures disagree.

By Brijon M. · Published October 5, 2026

Disclosure: We earn a commission if you buy through our links. It does not change what we recommend. How we are funded.

Open cargo area of an electric SUV with the load floor visible

The published numbers are these: around 30.2 cu ft (854 L) behind the second row, and around 75.5 cu ft (2,138 L) with the second row folded on a 2025+ Juniper — 72.1 cu ft (2,041 L) on a 2020-2024 car. The frunk adds about 4.1 cu ft (117 L) and the well under the load floor about 2 cu ft. Those figures come from EV Database's EU-market Long Range AWD entries.

What is not published, by Tesla or by anyone else with a method we can check, is the length, width and depth of the tub itself. That is the measurement people actually want when they ask this question, and the honest answer is that the figures circulating online disagree with each other.

The published volumes, generation by generation

Model Y cargo volumes — EV Database figures, EU Long Range AWD
2020-2024Juniper 2025+
Behind the second row30.2 cu ft / 854 L30.2 cu ft / 854 L
Second row folded72.1 cu ft / 2,041 L75.5 cu ft / 2,138 L
Frunk4.1 cu ft / 117 L4.1 cu ft / 117 L
Under-floor well (sub-trunk)Around 2 cu ftAround 2 cu ft
US publications quote different numbers for the same car — Car and Driver lists 29.0 cu ft behind the second row and 71.4 cu ft behind the front row — because they box the cargo area differently and treat under-floor storage differently. Neither is wrong; they are answering slightly different questions.

The Juniper's gain with the seats folded is the one real difference, and it has a mechanical explanation: the redesigned rear-bench folding geometry sits flatter against the floor pan. Seats up, the two generations are the same.

The tub measurements, and why we are not going to state them flatly

Third-party figures for the main cargo area put maximum depth at around 43 inches and minimum width at around 37 inches, with the sub-trunk well at roughly 27 inches wide, 18 inches front to back and 15 inches deep. Those come from an accessory retailer rather than from Tesla, the generation they apply to is not stated, and some other figures published alongside them are clearly wrong.

What is verifiable, and what is not
ClaimStatus
Cargo volume seats up and foldedPublished, and consistent across EV Database entries
Frunk volumePublished, unchanged across both generations
Sub-trunk around 2 cu ftPublished, unchanged across both generations
Tub length, width and depthNot published by Tesla; third-party figures disagree and often omit the generation
Juniper gains space seats-foldedSupported and mechanically explained by the bench folding change
Juniper and 2020-2024 mats cross-fitFalse — the cargo geometry changed and Juniper mats leave gaps

Measure your own, in two minutes

  1. Step 1. Load floor length

    Tape from the back of the folded second-row seat to the inside of the closed liftgate, along the floor. This is the number that decides whether a bicycle or a flat-packed box goes in.

  2. Step 2. Width between the wheel arches

    Measure at the narrowest point, not at the opening. The arches are the constraint, and this is the figure third-party sources quote most inconsistently.

  3. Step 3. Height to the parcel shelf line

    Floor to the bottom of the rear glass. Anything taller than this is visible from outside and will not sit under a cargo cover.

  4. Step 4. Liftover

    Ground to the lip. Relevant if you load anything heavy, or a dog that no longer jumps.

  5. Step 5. Sub-trunk, all three dimensions

    Lift the load floor and measure the well itself. This is the space most owners underuse and the one no published figure describes usefully.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Loading luggage into an SUV cargo bay

Motrobe trunk mat and side-bin set

A cargo mat that adds storage instead of just protecting the floor.

Best use of the measured space8.4
2
Person lifting a bag into the open rear cargo area of a car

3D MAXpider cargo liner

The right answer if the cargo floor is the only thing you need covered.

Best without losing depth8.3
3
Two children lifting a suitcase into a car cargo area

Under-floor storage bins (Model Y)

The best hidden-storage upgrade in the car, for items you do not need in a hurry.

Best for the sub-trunk8.2

Scores are our editorial assessment of fitment scope, published materials and coverage. They are not lab measurements and we have not tested these products.

Loading luggage into an SUV cargo bay

1. Best use of the measured space

Motrobe trunk mat and side-bin set

Motrobe

Covers the cargo floor and the side wells together, which is the shape the Juniper cargo area actually is rather than the rectangle a single mat assumes. Juniper only.

Best for: Juniper owners who want the cargo floor and the side wells covered together

Fits: Model Y Juniper (2025-2026)

Fit8.5
Coverage8.5
Material8.0
Cleanability8.5
Value8.5
Overall8.4/ 10 — our editorial score, not a lab test

What works

  • Turns the side grooves — normally wasted space — into usable bins
  • Juniper-specific, so it does not sit proud at the wheel arches the way a legacy part does

What does not

  • Five-seat layout only; the seven-seat cargo floor is a different shape
  • The bins reduce how flat the floor is when you want to slide something long in

Manufacturer specifications

  • Built for the 2025-2026 Juniper five-seat cargo bay
  • Side-bin design that uses the molded grooves either side of the cargo floor
  • Wipeable surface

Specifications as published by the manufacturer. We have not independently tested this product.

Specification sources: Model Y trunk-organizer comparison

Person lifting a bag into the open rear cargo area of a car

2. Best without losing depth

3D MAXpider cargo liner

3D MAXpider

Protects the main cargo floor while costing almost none of the usable height, which matters on a car where the published volume is the selling point. Listed for 2020-2024 and Juniper.

Best for: Protecting the main cargo floor without losing usable depth

Fits: Model Y (2020-2024) · Model Y Juniper (2025-2026)

Fit9.0
Coverage7.5
Material9.0
Cleanability9.0
Value7.0
Overall8.3/ 10 — our editorial score, not a lab test

What works

  • The raised loading-edge lip is what stops a spill running out onto the bumper
  • Thin enough that you do not lose meaningful cargo height

What does not

  • Covers the cargo floor only — the under-floor well needs its own piece
  • Expensive for what is, functionally, one molded sheet

Manufacturer specifications

  • Same three-layer construction as the footwell liners
  • Shaped to the cargo well with a raised lip at the loading edge
  • Separate part numbers per Model Y generation

Specifications as published by the manufacturer. We have not independently tested this product.

Specification sources: 3D MAXpider Tesla Model Y liners (Teslarati store listing)

Two children lifting a suitcase into a car cargo area

3. Best for the sub-trunk

Under-floor storage bins (Model Y)

TAPTES

Divides the roughly 2 cu ft well beneath the load floor so it stops being a single pit. Both Model Y generations. It is a divider rather than a sealed container.

Best for: Dividing the deep well beneath the cargo floor

Fits: Model Y (2020-2024) · Model Y Juniper (2025-2026)

Fit8.5
Capacity9.0
Rigidity8.5
Access6.5
Value8.5
Overall8.2/ 10 — our editorial score, not a lab test

What works

  • The sub-floor well is the single most wasted volume in a Model Y, and bins make it usable
  • Everything stays below the load floor, so the cargo area still looks empty

What does not

  • You have to lift the floor panel to reach anything, so it is for things you need rarely
  • Bins reduce the well's total volume slightly

Manufacturer specifications

  • Bins shaped to the sub-floor well under the main cargo floor
  • Separate Juniper and legacy listings
  • Rigid dividers with lift handles

Specifications as published by the manufacturer. We have not independently tested this product.

Specification sources: TAPTES Model Y Juniper floor mat set, Model Y interior organizer round-up

What the numbers mean in practice

Thirty cubic feet behind the second row is a genuinely large figure for a vehicle this size, and the reason it works in practice is the depth of the tub rather than its footprint — the Model Y cargo area is deep relative to its floor area. That is why a tall-walled cargo tray is usually the wrong purchase here: the walls cost you the dimension the car is actually good at.

The sub-trunk is the other under-appreciated figure. Two cubic feet under a lid, out of sight, is the right place for anything you do not need until you stop, and it keeps the floor above it flat. Under-floor storage bins covers how to divide it.

For the front of the car, Model Y frunk dimensions applies the same approach to the frunk, which is the compartment with the least published data of all. For the Model 3, Model 3 trunk dimensions is the sedan equivalent of this page, and the shape of the problem there is completely different.

Questions people actually ask

What are the Tesla Model Y trunk dimensions?

The published volumes are around 30.2 cu ft (854 L) behind the second row and 75.5 cu ft (2,138 L) folded on a Juniper, 72.1 cu ft (2,041 L) folded on a 2020-2024 car, per EV Database. Tesla does not publish the tub's length, width and depth, and the third-party figures for those disagree.

Is the Juniper trunk bigger than the 2020-2024 Model Y?

Only with the seats folded — about 75.5 cu ft against 72.1 cu ft, because the Juniper's bench folds flatter against the floor pan. Seats up, both generations publish the same 30.2 cu ft.

How big is the Model Y sub-trunk?

Published at roughly 2 cu ft on both generations. Third-party figures put it at around 27 inches wide, 18 inches front to back and 15 inches deep, but the generation is not stated and we would measure your own rather than order to those numbers.

Why do different sites give different Model Y cargo numbers?

Because they box the cargo area differently and treat the under-floor well differently. EV Database's EU entries give 30.2 cu ft seats up; Car and Driver gives 29.0 cu ft. Both are measuring honestly, just not the same volume.

Sources

Specifications and fitment claims on this page come from the manufacturer and retailer pages listed above. We have not tested these products and do not claim to have.

Open boot of an electric saloon with the load floor visible

Guides

Tesla Model 3 Trunk Dimensions

Published Model 3 trunk and frunk volumes for both generations, what the sedan opening actually limits, and how to measure your own.